Skip to content

Student Alumni Association Ads

March 30, 2011

I’m catching up on my terrible archiving (I’m 80 hours through college and this is my third blog post), so this stuff isn’t timely or a reflection of my current skills at all. Hang tight for some up-to-date things, or see the study abroad ads post for a little taste.

In the mean time, these are a magazine ad and a billboard for ACU’s Student Alumni Association, of which I am a member. I’ll also be interning in the alumni office this summer, so you’ll (mom, Zack) be seeing more on that note.

When I found the files, I noticed that I had created them in Photoshop instead of InDesign. Silly. If I could go back in time and tell myself some things, these would be among them:

  • Choose wisely between Photoshop, InDesign and Illustrator.
  • Clearly label layers.
  • Don’t create more text boxes than are necessary.
  • Group elements that are supposed to stay together, and link layers that are supposed to stay together.
  • NAME FILES CLEARLY. Please, Taylor, just do it.
  • Keep things organized and save files in logical places.

Some people would use an opportunity to go back in time to warn themselves about big mistakes or natural disasters or expiration dates on milk. I would give myself the above advice.


Because the student alumni association would have a billboard. Whatever; it was part of the assignment.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

