Skip to content

A Calling

April 4, 2011

This weekend, I went to Passion Ft. Worth. Human words can’t begin to describe the encounters I had with God over the course of three days, but I want to try to get some thoughts down before I forget how I felt.

10,500 students, more than 1,000 volunteers, $227,000 raised to translate the Bible for an unreached people group in Mali, $14,291 raised for mosquito nets for Africa and 5,700 towels and 31,200 pairs of socks collected for homeless shelters in Ft. Worth. In 3 days, by the power of God. It was truly incredible.

Passion helped me draw near to God and understand how He wants me to love him and carry His name, but the most valuable words I heard this weekend were on the need for love for the world.

The group in Mali that we learned about is made up of about 500,000 people who have never heard of Christ, and who couldn’t read about Him if they wanted to. Not one verse of scripture exists in their most native language, and there are less than half a dozen Christ followers that belong to this people. It’s humbling and amazing to know that a small, small action I took to help translate parts of the Bible has the potential to bring an entire people to Christ. WE can take part in reaching the nations in God’s name. Amazing.

The train of thought that sent me on went something like this: Lots of Christians struggle with what happens to people in the world who have never heard the gospel. I think that question absolutely BEGS the next question: why have they never heard the gospel before? God created us to do two things. We were made as caretakers of His creation, and we were made to glorify Him and carry his name. Two things, and most of us do neither, though we claim to follow Him. So, why have they never heard the gospel before? Because we have never preached the gospel like we’re supposed to. I have never proclaimed the name of Christ like I’m supposed to. It should be the all-consuming desire and cry of our hearts that the amazing news of Christ’s life would reach our brothers and sisters around the world.

As I was watching a member of the tribe in Mali who is one of the only Christians among his people declare his love for God, I felt the Lord very clearly tell me to go to Haiti. I’ve had dreams about the orphanage three times in the past week, and I know that I’m supposed to be there. I love the people of that nation more than I know what to do with right now.

Last time I was there, there was a voodoo priest that came to a clinic we held on a remote mountain. He sat in the middle of the room and yelled in Creole the entire time we were there. My heart broke for him and the people in the room that day, and as I sang and prayed for Haiti at Passion, I had such a clear vision that I would be back on that mountain and that I would see that priest come to Jesus.

I don’t know what God wants me to do, when He wants me to do it, or how He wants me to do it, but I know that I’ll be in Haiti for a long time. I’ll need time, I’ll need resources and I’ll need strength. I don’t know where any of that is going to come from, but “I will go, Lord, if you lead me. I will hold your people in my heart.”

Pictures by Passion Conferences.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

