Skip to content

Newness

August 5, 2011

I know I say it in every post, but this blog isn’t really about people reading it, though I’m fine with that; I want to document my life and I have bad handwriting, so a blog is my medium of choice.

That being said, I was baptized with my brother last weekend. It was one of the best and most blessed days of my life, not because of the act or the water, but because of the Holy Spirit. I’ve always loved the Lord, but I haven’t always known the transforming power of His love. The key for me was change; a few months ago, something kind of snapped in me, and I began to understand that the point of my salvation was not simply believing or praying or doing, but becoming more like God so that I could experience more of Him. And that change only comes through the Holy Spirit.

This summer, I’ve allowed myself to grow and to be transformed. I’ve moved closer to the fruits that God wants me to have–patience, love, kindness, gentleness, joy–and farther from my own intolerance, frustration, harshness, judgment and dissatisfaction. I find it in the small things, and each time I feel the guidance and voice of the Spirit, I fall more in love with a God who rewards us most when we’re closest to Him. I’m beginning to understand what it means to have new life, and it is absolutely beautiful. The closer I get to the Lord and the more I seek His presence, the more I understand that He is faithful and good to His children, and the more I’m convicted to give up the satisfactory for the amazing.

Transformation is instantaneous, but change happens gradually–becoming more like Christ requires both. My heart has been transformed, and I’m His forever. But the change–turning over each moment of my life to the pursuit of holiness and His presence–will constantly be working within me, and I’m so looking forward to what’s in store.

Oh, and that’s Zack in the background. It was so wonderful to share that day with him :).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

