Skip to content

A Post About Friends

August 13, 2011

Last weekend I stopped at my beautiful friend’s new house in the Kerrville area. Her parent’s house, rather. They just moved from Naples, Fla. (darn you, AP style impulses) to Medina, Texas, and while it’s quite a drastic transition, they seem so happy, which makes me happy. While their house in town is being renovated, they’re living on the children’s home where her dad’s working, so we explored one night and it’s so pretty! It’s on Medina mountain, which is technically not a real mountain, but it’s Texas, so for our purposes it’s a mountain. It’s windy and scary to drive on and the children’s home is nestled right in it, and there are hundreds of deer.

Side note–Life is so full-circle: my dad went to the same TINY high school that her little brother is now going to, and lived a few miles from where they’re living. Out of all the places in the world. So cool.

It was so nice to spend some time with her before I leave. We went shopping in Fredericksburg and I bought some moveable type, sourdough bread and twine. Then we bought headband making supplies and went to town on that little project. Funny Face with Audrey Hepburn, homemade milkshakes and yards of ribbon were the makings of quite an ultimate girls’ night. She tried on her wedding dress for me and I was floored by how beautiful she looked. Colton is one lucky guy. We had a wonderful talk about how much God has healed, changed and blessed my relationship with Zack and her relationship with Colton, and I enjoyed every moment of our visit. I love her and I am SO thankful for our friendship.

Yesterday, I bought my first bridesmaid’s dress for Katie’s wedding next spring, and it was one of those growing up moments I’ve been feeling so much of recently. I’m so excited for her and Colton. Also, her wedding is going to be absolutely gorgeous. Yes.

Yesterday I also had dinner with one of my closest friends from high school. I can’t believe we’ve been friends for almost seven years. We’ve grown from girls to young women together, and I still enjoy every minute I spend with her. Katelyn, you are the absolute best, you know that?

Last night when I had dinner with Kate, I had one of those moments where I sort of saw and heard us and realized that we had turned into women meeting each other to catch up. Not kids hanging out, but two people with our own lives making time to keep up a special friendship. In high school, I wondered if I’d stay friends with anyone; I wondered not only if I wanted to, but if it was really possible to keep up that connection over state lines and as we moved into different places in life. I’m so, so thankful for the few people I held on to. Especially Kate. Every time we hang out, we pick up right where we left off and have the most FUN. We laugh so hard, make fun of the people we used to be (and make lots of fun of the people we used to date), and have meaningful conversations about the women we’re becoming. I love it.

All that to say this: I love my life. I love my friends. I’m so thankful for them. “Thankful” doesn’t really do it justice; I’m deeply appreciative of everything they give me, for the ways they make me a better person, and for the way they love me even when I’m annoying and obnoxious.

I’ve always had an easier time getting along with guys–I love hanging out with Zack’s friends–but recently, I’ve realized how special the few really great female relationships I have are to me. I don’t need dozens of girl friends. I don’t need a group of girls to go out with. In fact, I really, really don’t want that. I want–and need–the genuine, close, supportive, God-centered friendships that make my life so rich and enjoyable.

Katie and Kate (you guys have the same name, by the way)–thank you. Thanks for making me laugh, for making me think, and for making me a better person. Just thank you so, so much.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

