Skip to content

I am the Luckiest

August 19, 2011

The past 24 hours have been indescribably good. I woke up in Zack’s bed (alone, mom) next to my favorite dog in the world with his paws on my hands. How could it not have been a good day? I’ve never slept with Jack before because dogs aren’t allowed in my apartment complex, but it was so nice to have him with me. He’s sweet and huge and when he stretches in the morning it’s just about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. And he loves to cuddle!

After we left Zack’s house, we went to the hotel downtown my parents where are staying and just sat around and talked for a few hours. It was nice and needed and I love those talks where you feel so new and hopeful afterward. Those are good talks.

We went swimming (I bought a bathing suit for the first time in two years this week…I feel like Nike shorts and a sports bra might be inappropriate for French beaches) and it was HOT out. Like, the white towels were the only things that didn’t burn my feet. I looked pretty stupid jumping off the pavement onto the lounge chair and then onto the next one because the chair wasn’t any cooler than the ground. It was all so hot.

After we swam, we walked around downtown and went to a 100-year-old hat shop that my dad recommended we check out. Wow. I love seeing truly skilled people at their trade. Like leatherwork or carpentry or glassblowing, hat making is such an old craft and I have so much respect for people who spend their lives becoming experts at all the traditional tools and methods. It inspires me to learn the letterpress. They had replicas of lots of famous hats, from Indiana Jones to John Wayne, and the owner’s personal collection was showcased there, too.

We exhausted all of our food-finding apps and finally decided on P.F. Chang’s, mostly because it was right across the street. I love going on dates :). We ordered two small appetizers and then decided to try the duck. Mistake. Sorry, Zack. Turns out neither of us like duck, and in addition, ducks are Zack’s favorite animals, and I think he was thinking about how cute they are the whole time. Oh well! We try new things as much as we can, and needless to say, not everything can be chalked up as a victory. You win some, you lose some, you know? Duck was definitely a ‘lose some’ situation.

After that, we walked around some shops and I tried to convince Zack that he’d look good in cowboy boots. No luck there. Maybe someday.

We went back to Zack’s house, talked for awhile, made fresh lemon-limeade, and watched Where the Wild Things Are. I fell asleep halfway through it. I had a couple of moments last night when I looked around the room and was just so overwhelmingly happy to be who I was, where I was, right at that moment. I loved just sitting and talking and laughing and feeling so at home there. God has a funny way of showing me that in situations where I think there’s a problem, my attitude is usually the problem :).

For the second night in a row, I fell asleep next to my dog and woke up so happy. Zack came down (I hijacked his room so I could sleep with Jack, so he’s been in his brother’s room) and fell back asleep next to Jack, and I just sat for awhile watching my two guys lie there. A year and a half ago, I never could have imagined how amazing watching a boy and a dog sleep could make me feel.

‘Lucky’ is an inadequate word for my life; as Mr. Benson always says, I am ‘truly blessed.’ My heart carries unending praise for all the joy He’s given me.

It’s been a good day indeed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

