Skip to content

Open Doors, Magdalen College, Darwin’s House

October 11, 2011

These photos are from a few weeks ago; the Internet thing really threw me off, and then Paris meant 350 photos to sort through, so I’m just now getting around to posting these. The first shots are from the Oxford college that CS Lewis taught at. It was really incredible to be in the garden he walked through and see the building he lived in.

This is where the Oxford dons live. It’s such a beautiful building and the lawn is absolutely immaculate. One of my favorite aesthetic quirks about English landscaping is how perfect they keep the grass contrasted with the wild, free-growing flowers in the gardens. I don’t particularly like pictures of flowers, but they were beautiful and so sweet so I had to take and post some. Every little garden nook in this country makes me feel like I’m stepping into The Secret Garden. It was one of the first books my mother read me as a young child, and when I started reading longer books, I absolutely loved reading it myself. I adore the idea of being shrouded in a sort of separate world created by a garden landscape, and English gardens do that for me. Everything grows a bit asunder, and it’s just lovely.

The reading room at the Bodleian Library. It’s not open to the public; you literally have to take an oath before you’re allowed to touch the books.

And this was one of the most awe-inspiring things we’ve done since we’ve been here. It’s Darwin’s home where he did almost all of his research and lived with his wife, Emma, and his children. I can’t even describe what it felt like to be in the place where one of the greatest minds in the history of science worked and lived. His greenhouse, garden, walking trail, office, and library are just incredible; his home demands a sort of reverence, and his personality is so evident in everything. I loved being there and walking with Zack the path he and Emma walked so often. It was kind of surreal.

Paris pictures coming soon :).

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 9:54 pm

    TAYLOR, I love stalking your blog- mainly cause it’s amazing and I feel like I get to be spending time with you again! i loveee youuu

Leave a Reply

