Skip to content

Thanksgiving: Days 1 & 2

November 2, 2011

I know it’s a little cheesy, but I’m going to post about things I’m thankful for leading up to Thanksgiving. It’s not really celebrated in the UK as fully as it is in the US, so I wanted to be intentional about thanksgiving; while I should be every day, this month seems like an appropriate time to specifically start the habit of expressing thanks. Sometimes the things I’m thankful for will be significant and sometimes they will be silly; this exercise is about learning to pause and take time to recognize blessings. So, here’s day one to make up for yesterday and day two, which is today.

Day 1: Christ
First and foremost, He is everything, and I am ever grateful. My life is saved, my soul is filled with joy and peace and praise, and my life is forever changed by His beauty and love and grace. No words could sufficiently express my gratitude and thanks and utter bewilderment at the depths of His love and what He is. As we prepare for Christmas, I am beginning to realize that all the bigness of God’s love was wrapped up in one act on one day; from the beginning, He knew the sacrifice and the mercy it would take to set us free, and He did. He did! I am so thankful, and I will never be the same.

Day 2: Blaine & Caroline
I’ve never been the type of person to have a lot of friends at once, especially for a girl. The close friends I have are so dear to me, and Caroline is one of those people. I’ve been so blessed to know her, especially here, and I love the life we get to share in our little room on the top floor of house 10. From not showering 5 days in a row and laughing it off to talking about the big things in life and being uncertain about both of our futures in such a similar way, we’ve gotten so close this semester and I’m blessed to have such a beautiful and wonderful friend. And I love borrowing her clothes.

So this is the beginning. My prayer is that I learn to be deeply appreciative of life and of the Lord in ways I haven’t been wise enough to do before. Also, by being thankful for things, I get annoyed with them less; by reflecting on how wonderful the things and people in my life are, I hope to gain a patience for them that I haven’t always had :). Here goes a month!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

