Skip to content

Thanksgiving: Day 5

November 5, 2011

Day 5: GATA
Oh, boy. I’m not totally sure where to start. Before coming abroad, I didn’t totally understand how much GATA meant to me. I knew I loved it and I knew I’d miss it, but I didn’t know how hard it would be to watch pledging and be here without any of my sisters. It’s funny how I’ve most profoundly come to understand how much I love this group of women when I’ve been the farthest from them; “I’ll think of you GATA, and smile when I do” is never so true as when you’re far from your sisters. I have learned to love others as Christ did, to see strangers as sisters, and  to work together for a common goal. I’ve also become a part of something so much bigger than myself; being a part of a 91-year-old group of women gives me a greater sense of legacy, and through club, I am privileged to walk in the path of the women who helped make ACU what it is today. From Dewby Ray smiling at me when I see her to seeing future generations excited about our club, I feel such a sense of pride and belonging and joy when I see my sisters, both present and past. It is a beautiful thing to meet someone and instantly be connected by a deep and common bond; it has taught me that this is how the body of Christ should be.

Us as baby flames :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

