Skip to content

Thanksgiving: Days 6 & 7

November 8, 2011

Day 6: Orange Juice

In Marrakech, there’s a city center called Jemaa al Fna that’s filled with vendors and snake charmers and monkey trainers and stands with dried fruit and nuts. It’s hectic and overwhelming, and one of the coolest places I’ve ever been. One of my favorite parts was the fresh orange juice. It was easily the best orange juice I’ve ever had; it was sweet and squeezed right in front of us, and it cost 4 dirhams per glass. That’s 40 euro cents. That’s 55 cents in USD. WOW. We drank so much of it, and it was one of the best parts of Marrakech. So delicious, and I’m almost positive it helped us all recover from our sore throats and coughs. Being in a place with such fresh produce reminded me of how good God’s creation is; He made this earth so plentiful for us! And so tasty :). So I’m thankful for orange juice!

Day 7: Planes, Trains, and Automobiles

We had a LONG day of traveling yesterday. We left our hostel in Marrakech at about 8:30 yesterday morning and got home to our house in Oxford around 10:30 last night. We took a taxi to the airport, a plane to Madrid, a plane to Stansted, a train to Liverpool Station, a tube to Paddington Station, a train to Oxford, and a taxi home. It was quite the journey. By the end of it, we were a little delirious and created a hilarious piece of napkin art (to that!) and probably laughed more than the other people on the train would have liked, but it was FUN. I’m thankful that I began my day in Africa and ended it in England; that’s amazing to me and our ability to travel and experience radically different things is something I’ve become acutely aware of this semester.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 10:10 am

    There sate few things a mother could want more than a child with a GRATEFUL heart. I love who you are Taylor Rose. I love you.

Leave a Reply

