Skip to content

Thanksgiving: Days 9 & 10

November 9, 2011

Day 9: Lemons and Limes

Water is so infinitely better with a little squeeze of citrus. When I was sick last week and tap water sounded gross, Zack went to the grocery store and brought me back a big bag of lemons and limes to put in my water. It was one of the best tasting things I’ve ever had when I was sick and nothing sounded good. I love lime in my water so much; if I could only drink one thing for the rest of my life, it would be chilled water with no ice and lime. Perfect and YUM.

Day 10: My Teeth

Specifically, braces. They’re really expensive and a huge hassle and my mom brought me to orthodontist appointments for like five years. As I was brushing my teeth today, I marveled at how straight they were and how much effort went into making them that way and keeping them healthy. Real talk: I have a TON of cavities. They all get filled when they need to. I go to a nice office with a super great dentist (Dr. Christopher Moore, if you need one; he is seriously awesome) and in general, insurance has paid for most of it. I know it’s kind of a dumb thing to dwell on given the giant headache insurance is most of the time, but I’m super thankful for it. Being in Haiti and seeing diseased teeth pulled with no anesthetic makes me really, really grateful for something I probably take for granted too often. People don’t talk about teeth much, mostly because they’re gross (sorry Marissa…good luck in dental school), but today I’m thankful for the blessing of good dental care. And also a mom who loved me enough to deal with braces.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 9:44 pm

    I love reading your blog! Makes me miss you less (or more?).

Leave a Reply

