Skip to content

Thanksgiving: Days 14-16

December 5, 2011

Well, I was gone for 10 days without Internet access. Then I was back with papers to write. Now November has ended and I want to finish my Thanksgiving series because it was one of the most wonderful months of my life. I was going to do it all in one post, then it turned into 3,000 words (literally) and not even I want to read 3,000 words about my life, so I’ll take it three days at a time.

Day 14: Adventures

Our Thanksgiving break officially began on Friday, but ours sort of started Wednesday. We took a train into London to see Death Cab for Cutie, and it was one of the best shows of my life. Our group was PERFECT (Zack, Hunter, Madi, Paige, Gabi, Meghan, and myself) and the concert was truly incredible. It brought me right back to high school and it was such a fun night. Thursday, we had our big meal together which was totally delicious. Pat Brannan’s sweet potatoes are like nothing I have ever tasted. Yum. After dinner, Caroline and I showered, packed, laughed a lot, and then the four of us headed to the train station around 12:30. Yikes. We travelled all through the night and began one of the most incredible adventures I’ve ever been on. I’m thankful for the memories we created that week, the spirit of adventure we share with our friends, and the blessings we celebrated on our Thanksgiving.

Death Cab was AMAZING.

Day 15: The Kids in my Life

It’s been weird not having kids around this semester. I miss Abby and Becca and Will a lot when I’m at school, but I also have a ton of fun with Lindsey and Reagan when I’m at ACU, so no matter where I am, there’s usually an opportunity for me to get to hang out with some pretty special kiddos. They all bring me joy (and so does hanging out with their awesome parents), and I’ve grown to really miss having those relationships while I’ve been here. I’m so blessed to have been a part of Abby and Becca and Will’s lives, and they’re some of the most wonderful people I know. I’m so thankful for them, and I can’t wait to get home and give them huge hugs (and some presents, too)!

This is one of my favorite pictures of Abby and Becca ever. I think it’s absolutely hilarious.

Precious Lindsey and the cupcakes she helped us decorate. I love this girl.

Day 16: Home

I love so many things about the house I’ve spent the last 11 years in. It holds so many memories for me, and I’ve grown in so many ways in it. But the thing I’m most thankful for about home is that it has nothing to do with my house. My home on earth is with my family and Zack, wherever they are, and it’s wherever God calls me. It’s not always easy to get over being attached to the physical representations of home; I love being in the kitchen and sitting in the living room reading or chatting with my mom. I’m going to miss the physical space when we move. But I am constantly reminded that the love I share with my family and with Zack is what makes me feel safe and special and at home in this world. And ultimately, my home is with Christ. I’m so thankful for that!

This is an awful picture of Alex, and it’s not even in our house, but it’s the only picture of all four of us I could find. Yay for family!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

