Skip to content

Thanksgiving: Days 29-30

December 11, 2011

Day 29: St. Aldate’s

Christ’s church is indeed a beautiful bride. There are no words to describe how truly blessed I have been by the people at St. Aldates this semester, and by their hearts for God, their following the Spirit, their prayers for their church, and their service and ministry. Naomi, the Cleverlys, everyone we served with at Alpha, each and every person who spoke God’s word in service, the interns (albeit in passing); that church is anointed and full of testimony to God’s good and transforming power. I wish I could take it all home with me and worship there forever; I’ve grown so much just by being there for three and a half months. I love St. Aldate’s, and I’m so thankful that God led me to them.

St. Aldate’s during Alpha; the Spirit has moved so strongly on Tuesday nights there. And there are beautiful ceilings, so that’s cool too.

Me and Naomi, one of my favorite people at St. Aldate’s

Shawn (maybe…there are three ways to spell it), the sweetest man ever.

Day 30: Zack

Best for last. What can I even say about Zack? He changed my life 22 months ago, and I can’t believe how much of who I am now is because of his leadership, prayers, testimony to me, and commitment to following God. I respect him so deeply for the man that he is and the man that he’s becoming each day. As I watch his heart grow closer to the Lord all the time, I get so excited for our future and what God has in store for our lives; it’s cheesy to call your boyfriend a ministry partner maybe, but I know that’s part of what our relationship is called to be, and I’m excited about it. Whether it’s in Haiti or our own church, I love serving the Lord with him. I love who he is and I love who he makes me. He’s so smart, so perceptive, so wise, so honest, so insightful, so hungry for truth, so passionate about learning, so committed to his values, and most importantly, so in love with God. I feel safe and at home with him, and I cherish him so deeply. We’ve experienced such a similar and sweet redemption, found the same purpose, grown the same ways, and as we have begun and continued our walk together, I’m so thankful for his companionship through it all. I’m so thankful for his love, his prayers, his leadership, and his heart. He’s my best friend, my partner, my companion, my confidante, my love, my guidance, and my favorite conversation. We are so unbelievably silly together, and I always feel like my happiest self when I’m with him. He’s the biggest blessing I’ve ever received besides my salvation. I’m ultimately thankful for the opportunity for us to honor God with our lives together; I wouldn’t want to do it with anyone else.

Month two

:)

Our first trip with Blaine and Caroline

With Julie in Haiti, hearing our call to missions for the first time

Gamma Sigma Phi formal 2011

My two favorite guys, Zack and Jack. I pretty much love them equally :).

Nice, France, last week

So I guess that concludes the Thanksgiving posts. Each time I sat down to write, I was flooded with the realization of how immensely blessed I am. A lot of the days sound really similar, and it’s because I know where my blessings come from and why my life is good: Christ. That’s what it comes down to. I’ve loved reflecting on the many wonderful gifts I get to experience each day; I hope it will lead me into a more permanently thankful mindset.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

