Skip to content

2012

December 31, 2011

Life is happening. It’s beautiful, and it’s holy, and it’s happening so fast. I started composing this post and thinking about the changes I want to make in my life on December 11. I began doing some of these things that day, so these aren’t necessarily new years resolutions; January is just a turning point. I’m starting my 6th semester of college. I’m adjusting to living in Texas again, and moving forward with a new perspective. I’m living alone for the first time in my life. I’m trying new things in school and taking my first art class. My family is moving into a new house. Indeed, this year holds lots of change for me, and I’m so excited to embrace life purposefully and prayerfully. Here’s my list for 2012.

  1. Spend more time alone with God, listening to the Spirit
  2. Pray for Zack every day; grow in service to him and respect for him
  3. Be more purposeful with my time; read about ideas and information instead of entertainment and shopping
  4. Minimize or eliminate shopping at Wal Mart and United; support community farming and agriculture
  5. Eat well and exercise well; honor my body
  6. Learn to be okay with and good at living minimally; honor God with my money and save for my future
  7. Be intentional about learning; pick up a craft and practice it
  8. Practice talking less and listening more
  9. Talk more boldly about my faith
  10. Design and write regularly
  11. Fast from shopping February through April; go to Round Rock with Caroline in May
  12. Find a ministry at church and commit to serve
  13. Be kind
  14. Have fun
  15. Play lots of cards and dominoes and watch less TV
  16. Keep a clean apartment and enjoy my space
  17. Call my grandparents more
  18. Write more notes and letters
  19. Add some sparkle to my life (notably of the glittery or metallic variety)
  20. Be happy!

I won’t be perfect at everything by this time next year. I might not even be decent at everything. But as I move forward, I want to intentionally cultivate good things within myself and in my life. Cheers to living well, and happy new year!

To get going on number 19:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Santaniello-Brox permalink
    January 1, 2012 3:42 pm

    Hello Duck, Huzzah! and Happy New Year to you too. Sophia and I had the lurgy the past couple days but we are feeling jolly-good now. Hope all is hunky-dory with you and that you are enjoying your time off from the uni. Just thought I’d let you know that was a cracking good list you created. I think I might pinch it for my own! Well, I’ll stop my yakking for now and just say Ta! Give us a bell sometime. TTFN, Auntie Julie

  2. January 28, 2012 1:07 am

    This is beautiful, Taylor, and so wise. Thank you for sharing your heart here.

Leave a Reply

